We're now part of the York & North Yorkshire Combined Authority

22 October, 2018

Police Public Choice Award winners revealed

PC Craig Davies and PC Richard O’Connell are the proud recipients of this year’s Public Choice Award, North Yorkshire Police has revealed.

Each year, North Yorkshire Police collects nominations for officers, police staff and volunteers who have shown particular courage, inspiration or compassion in the course of their duties over the previous year.

The top nominees are then put out to the public, so they can vote on who they want to receive the prestigious Public Choice Award.

More than 4,000 people across North Yorkshire voted in this year’s Public Choice Award – the highest number since the Award was launched in 2015.

The 2018 winners were revealed at the close of North Yorkshire Police’s Annual Awards ceremony at Sandburn Hall on Friday night (19 October 2018).  The public’s pick were Selby PCs O’Connell and Davies, who wrestled a violent, knife-wielding man to the ground, in a dramatic and bloody domestic incident in Tadcaster last May.

PC Craig Davies, who was presented with the Public Choice Award trophy by Police and Crime Commissioner, Julia Mulligan, said:

“It was a great honour to be nominated alongside all the other officers and staff who won awards this year, and it is an incredible privilege to win. I’d just like to say a big thank you to all the people who voted for me and Richard.”

The other winners on the night included:

  • Scarborough Special Constable Andrew Berry, who won the Glenn Goodman Award for an outstanding contribution to the Special Constabulary, for his work to police high-profile events at Scarborough’s Open Air Theatre
  • DC Mo Mohammed who won the Lifetime Achievement Award (police officer) for campaigning to support the rights of officers from black and minority ethnic communities
  • Detention Officer Ian Ventress, for his caring approach to the welfare of detainees at York custody over two decades
  • PC Michael Barker from the Scarborough response team, who won 1st place in the courage category, for saving a man from jumping from a suicide bridge
  • PD Thor, now retired, who was recognised for standing guard over his handler Martin Gayle when he was badly injured in the course of duty
  • The Rural Taskforce, who won 1st place in the inspiration category for their engagement and crime prevention work across North Yorkshire’s rural communities
  • DS Tracey Williams, who won 2nd place in the inspiration category for her work on children’s safeguarding in York
  • Police staff member Kim Wray, who took the 3rd place inspiration award for transforming the York Police Cadets
  • Scarborough DS Angie Carey, who scooped the first prize for compassion for her ground-breaking work to safeguard adults and children across Scarborough, Whitby and Ryedale
  • Northallerton PCSO Angie Carey, who was presented with the 2nd place compassion award for supporting students and staff at a school during high-profile court cases for conspiracy to murder and inciting child sexual abuse
  • Selby Sergeant Amy Hunter, who received the 3rd place compassion trophy for campaigning to put up a memorial to murdered police officer Norman Garnham.

Commenting on the 2018 Award ceremony, Chief Constable Lisa Winward of North Yorkshire Police said:

“Our Annual Awards ceremony is always a very special evening, because it showcases the work of North Yorkshire Police’s officers, staff and volunteers who really do go the extra mile to keep people safe. Many awards ceremonies recognise only the most dramatic incidents – and we have our share of those – but in recognising compassion and inspiration we also pay tribute to those who are not in the public eye, but who nevertheless do outstanding work. I’d like to congratulate all of our winners, and thank the public for voting in their thousands for this year’s Public Choice Award. Your support means a great deal to everyone across the Force.”

Julia Mulligan, North Yorkshire’s elected Police and Crime Commissioner, said:

“Every day, across North Yorkshire, police officers go above and beyond the call of duty in incredibly challenging and difficult circumstances. The Public Choice Award is an opportunity for us to showcase the work that doesn’t hit the headlines, but makes a big impact on the safety of our communities, and I was delighted to be able to present the award once again this year.

“From an impressive shortlist, I was honoured to be able to reveal the winners as PC Craig Davies and PC Richard O’Connell for their work tackling a knife-man in a domestic incident in Tadcaster in May. Thank you to the members of the public who voted for this year’s award and for their support for the police across the county every day. I’d also like to congratulate every winner at the awards for their outstanding service.”

North Yorkshire Police gratefully acknowledges the support of its sponsors who cover the cost of the Annual Awards event:  Price Waterhouse Cooper Services, the Police Federation, the High Sheriff of North Yorkshire, Police Mutual Assurance Society, the National Association for Retired Police Officers, UNISON and TecTracer.